Young Scholars of College of Engineering, NTU Granted Important Research Projects

Since College of Engineering was established, “Being the best in Asia, and standing on the top of the world” in all fields has been the development direction. With all the effort from professors and students, College of Engineering presents great performance in teaching, research, and service, especially the brilliant research results from the scholars of the college. In recent years, many young scholars perform excellence in their research, bringing great energy in project application and granted many important projects including MOST Shackleton Program (沙克爾頓計畫), Columbus Program (哥倫布計畫), and Einstein Program (愛因斯坦計畫).

Professor Chia-Wen (Kevin) Wu (吳嘉文) of Chemical Engineering Department and his research team (members including Assistant Professor Chu-Chen Chueh (闕居振) from NTU Chemical Engineering Department, Professor Shiao-Wei Kuo (郭紹偉) from NSYSU Materials and Optoelectronic Science Department, and Associate Professor Li-Hsien Yeh (葉禮賢) from NTUST Chemical Engineering Department) is awarded 2019 MOST Shackleton Program (breakthrough research). Totally 12 projects are granted for 2019 MOST Shackleton Program (breakthrough research) including 4 from NTU, and the one led by Professor Wu is the only one from College of Engineering, which is a great honor for the college. Professor Wu has devoted to the research and application of nanoporous materials, and has brilliant contribution in the fields of green energy, biomass conversion, membrane preparation & isolation, and drug/gene delivery and release.

In addition, 7 young scholars from College of Engineering, NTU are awarded MOST Young Scholar Fellowship. Assistant Professor Chih-Hsuan Chen (陳志軒) of Mechanical Engineering Department and Assistant Professor Ying-Chieh Chan (詹瀅潔) of Civil Engineering Department are awarded 2018 Einstein Program. And for this year, Assistant Professor Chi-Feng Pai (白奇峰) of Materials Science and Engineering Department, Associate Professor Dun-Yen Kang (康敦彥) of Chemical Engineering Department are awarded 2019 Columbus Program. For the Einstein Program, the awardees are Assistant Professor Kuan-Lun Hsu (徐冠倫) of Mechanical Engineering Department, Assistant Professor Shu-Wei Chang (張書瑋) of Civil Engineering Department, and Assistant Professor Hsieh-Chen Tsai (蔡協澄) of Mechanical Engineering Department.

In 2019, 2 scholars from College of Engineering are approved by “The Yushan Young Scholar Program” (玉山青年學者方案) including Assistant Professor Aishwarya Y. Puranam (朴艾雪) of Civel Engineering Department and Assistant Professor Chia-Hung Chen (陳家宏) of Biomedical Engineering Department, bringing more innovation energy to the research result of College of Engineering.