The Engineering College of National Taiwan University was created in 1945. Its predecessor was the Faculty of Engineering of the Taihoku Imperial University, founded in 1943. In the beginning, the College consisted of four departments: Civil Engineering, Mechanical Engineering, Electrical Engineering, and Chemical Engineering. After seven-decade growth and maturity, it has been developed into a comprehensive engineering college, including the six Departments of Civil Engineering, Mechanical Engineering, Chemical Engineering, Engineering Science and Ocean Engineering, Materials Science and Engineering and Biomedical Engineering; together with five independent Graduate Institutes; namely, Environmental Engineering (founded in 1977), Applied Mechanics (1984), Building and Planning (1988), Industrial Engineering (1994), and Polymer Science and Engineering (2002). The name of the former Graduate Institute and Department of Naval Architecture established respectively in 1973 and 1976 was changed into that of the Engineering Science and Ocean Engineering in 2002. The Graduate Institute of Materials Science and Engineering founded in 1982 began offering an undergraduate program in 2001, which became the Department of Materials Science and Engineering. The Graduate Institute of Biomedical Engineering founded in 1998 began offering an undergraduate program in 2018, which became the Department of Biomedical Engineering. To date, all the eleven Departments and Graduate Institutes in this College provide masters’ and doctoral programs, and the Industrial Engineering Graduate Institute has been providing in-service master program in Zhubei campus starting from 2011 fall semester. To cultivate interdisciplinary talents equipped with a combination of key techniques, the Ph.D. Program of Green Materials and Precision Devices was established in 2016, and the International Ph.D. Program of Molecular Science and Technology was established in 2017.

Currently, the area of the College of Engineering is about 105,400 square meters without calculating the coming new CoE Building. The current CoE Building is mainly shared by the office of the CoE, Mechanical Engineering Department, and Materials Science and Engineering Department. The NTU Civil Engineering Research Building (2008), the Environment Research Building (2011), the YongLin Biomedical Engineering Hall (2015), Tseng Jiang Hall (2018), the additional construction on National Center for Research on Earthquake Engineering (NCREE) donated to Civil Engineering by Ruentex Group (2020) and other departments are located at different spots on campus.


Tse-Hong Loh    1945 ~ 1946

Ngou-Shou Wai       1946 ~ 1948

Jeou-Shen Pern        1948 ~ 1953

Chen-Hsing Yen       1953 ~ 1955

Kow-Kung Choong  1955 ~ 1965

Tsu-Nien Chin    1965 ~ 1972

Chao-Chung Yu       1972 ~ 1979

Tung-Ying Wung     1979 ~ 1985

Chun-Tsung Wang   1985 ~ 1990

Chin-Lien Yen    1990 ~ 1993

Yih-Nan Chen    1993 ~ 1999

Yeong-Bin Yang       1999 ~ 2005

Huan-Jang Keh        2005 ~ 2011

Jia-Yush Yen      2011 ~ 2017

Wen-Chang Chen     2017 ~ Present